Tampa Pro 2018, it’s a wrap!

Photo: Bart Jones

Tampa Pro went down this past weekend and we were here for it’s 24th year! 2018 is the year the event sold out at record times with over 3,200 spectators in attendance throughout the weekend! Along with those impressive stats came some impressive skating. Not to worry if you didn’t get the chance to snag some tickets or tune into ETN live, we’ve got the weekend recap for you.

Welcome to Tampa everyone!

The event officially kicked off Thursday with the annual “Welcome to Town” party at the Bricks. After everyone got their eight-ish hours of sleep the park opened up to pros and industry only for practice. By Friday evening Dan Rogers won the Industry street contest for a second time and the Industry Bowl jam was in full force. The night closed with the a video screening of CPH Open: The Final Chapter and the death race.

Qualifiers, Tricks, and Jams

Saturday morning was buzzing with spectators from all over the world ready to see the pros (and some qualifying AMs) put it down. Over the course of  5 hours, the judges narrowed the top 30 skaters advancing to semi finals. By evening our team rider, Jamie Foy, won best trick with a big spin, front blunt, big spin. Big ups to Big Boy Foy for taking another coveted award this year! The evening was shut down at the concrete jam by Trey Wood with a backside boneless off the roof. What other way would SPoT celebrate this kind of skating? Punk rock karaoke hosted by Thrasher’s Jake Phelps and lots of fireworks. It was mental.

Photo: Bart Jones


Tampa Pro Finals

By Sunday morning, the place was maxed out and the crowd was eager to see who was going to take the gold. After two runs between 34 talented skaters, only 12 made the cut. The 12 finalists consisted of Zion Wright, Manny Santiago, Kelvin Hoefler, Axel Cruysberghs, Yuto Horigome, Luan Olivera, TJ Rogers, Felipe Gustavo, Jagger Eaton, Alex Midler, Ryan Decenzo, and last year’s champ Louie Lopez. While everyone listed gave 110%, it was 17 year old Jagger who’s run made him this year’s Tampa Pro winner.

Here’s his winning run.